Cambodian New Year – El Dorado Park Celebration

Cambodian New Year 2014 ends at El Dorado Park in Long Beach, California.  Very big, big changes that I’ve seen from when I was a kid.  Don’t tell anyone I said this…but the organizers of this affair has gotten smarter over the years.  From upped security to excess volunteers, it has gone from just us Khmer folk getting together… to a huge festival of another level.  One of my favorite parts of the new year is seeing the traditional dances.  I think they are just enchanting to watch.

_MG_4944

Far too many things to cover.  Long lines forming at food booths that I did not get in line for, jam-packed peoples like sardines near stage area, toy vendors hawking their merchandise to grandmommas and pappies, traditional games, Khmer karaoke…in public, even a small carnival with rides!  It was very refreshing to see so many more races and nationalities attending the celebration.  Now this is something I am thankful my Viking got to experience.

_MG_4942_Fotor_Collage

_MG_4947_Fotor_Collage

This was also the first time that my sister and I have attended with our kids.  They had a fantastically awesome time!  It was nice that we stuck with our tradition of picnicking near the lake and walking towards the brouhahas when we were ready.  It was quiet and away from the chaos where we could eat and play without worry.

_MG_4884_Fotor_Collage…and also sleep!  Check out Mr. Daredevil in the top right corner after a wagon-ride around the lake 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

