Coppélia

_MG_8584

Revived by The Long Beach Ballet, this comedic ballet is charming and witty at the same time.  I had the privilege and pleasure of attending my niece’s ballet performance in their presentation of Coppelia this past weekend.  For those not in the know, here’s a link that explains the story more in depth and probably better than I, New York Ballet Company (I hope to see it there one day…ohh the grandeur of costumes and live orchestra would be amazing!)

My niece has been doing ballet for quite a while now and it is wonderful to see her enjoy it so much.  Though she had a small role in it, it is so special to see her delight in getting ready for it.  She even had her make-up done by the fabulous Stacy (Faces by Stacy in the OC)…what a treat for a six-year old!

_MG_8555_Fotor_Collage

(was able to get a slight film look in the bottom photo of her face, such gorgeousness…woot woot!)

_MG_8572_Fotor_Collage

_MG_8567

The Diva was a Coppelia doll in the ballet and this is her signature pose!

_MG_8585_Fotor_Collage

These photos of the stage were taken with stealth and the help of my bag/suitcase.  Anddd they were taken after the announcer said, “please no photos or videos during the performance!”  Any minute I was waiting for the usher to come and scold me for breaking the rules and I could feel other people giving me stink-eye but hey…this is once in a lifetime and I might never get to do this again so what the heck…just DO it!

_MG_8591

 

_MG_8589

Congratulations Bub…you were magnificent!

Leave a Reply

