Cabrillo Marine Aquarium

_MG_6456

This is the start of many more aquatic adventures on my blog.  If you follow my blog and know me well, then you know that the ocean is my playground.  But in order to enjoy it, you must respect it and learn as much about it as you can.  I definitely want to instill that in my Viking and is beyond thrilled that he already loves fish and loves to stick his hands in all the touch tanks at the aquarium.

I went to CMA (Cabrillo Marine Aquarium) when I was in the sixth grade and oh my… it has changed soooo much, barely recognizable for me.  It is sentimental and nostalgic that I was able to take my son here.  CMA is a great place because one, it is freeeee! (donations are welcome of course!) and two, the beach and playground is right across the parking lot!  Parking is $1/hr and bathrooms are ehhh…let’s just say they need to be updated.   It is located in old town San Pedro.

One of the highlights of this adventure was the Exploration area.  It was amazingly clean and such a great set-up for kids of all ages to explore!  It challenges you to use all your senses to explore the ocean and they even provide tools for you to engage yourself as a marine biologist!  How cool is that!

_MG_6461_Fotor_Collage-2-2

_MG_6498

_MG_6500_Fotor_Collage_2-2-2

_MG_6499

Let’s just say he kind of likes looking through things!

When hitting Southern California with your kids, this is a must-see.  It’s a secret spot that’s not so crowded but you get the best of both worlds with the aquarium and then the beach after.  What’s not to like?

_MG_6511

To all my sic-fi lovers…what does the background look like??  (Hint: Star Wars…They are used by the Old Republic and the Galactic Empire for ground assault or transport)  Pretty cool right??!!

Leave a Reply

