Excitement in the Mundane

“Creativity is piercing the mundane to find the marvelous” – Bill Moyers

As I write this, my guy has upended his box of cars all over the floor {…for the hundredth time} and has decided he wants to cook and is looking through the latest issue of Food Network Magazine.   All while still at the wee age of two and a half.  So today I have decided to dig deep and give you a few thoughts on the way I take photos and how I think up new ways to take them.

Sometimes as a Mom and Photographer, commonly known as the Momtog,  I struggle with what kind of photos to take and which ones to keep.  Although most want photos of their children’s faces, I can handle some of their backs and feet so that when I look back, I can remember how little those feet and hands were.

So I encourage you to take a moment and take the photo as is and appreciate kids being kids…let them play and talk to their toy cars as if they were equals.  You don’t have to go somewhere to take photos {although that random field of yellow flowers does seem nice!}, take that photo while at home or out and about.  Surprise them and and peek out and that sudden grin will be all  you need for that moment.  And even if you don’t have kids, take a moment and take a breath…for truly capturing that moment, because sometimes, it’ll only happen once.  Here are some examples of my personal “mundane moments”.

_MG_3125

{this was taken as is without his face as I wanted to show his hands playing with his car and I liked the contrast between the bench and the dock wall behind him}

_MG_5519

{this was taken at the happiest place on Earth, and surprisingly there was no one in front of us…he turned around to make sure that I was still behind him :)}

_MG_8055

{fresh in the morning and found him playing with his cars}

So there you have it.  No posing and no secrets.  Just let it be.  Every moment deserves to be captured, even if they seem mundane.

Leave a Reply

